top of page
  • Soli Travels

Get a Geisha makeover in Kyoto

When in Kyoto, one exciting activity to take part in is a Geisha or Maiko makeover. This experience was particularly exciting for me because I’ve always admired the beautiful kimonos and floral headpieces.



Booking the makeover experience


I booked my Maiko makeover with AYA Gion in Kyoto. The total cost was around £80 and lasted 1 hour. On the AYA Gion website, you need to pre-book and select one of their packages.



My Maiko package included:

  • Selecting four photography poses.

  • Hair styling and makeup.

  • Choosing your kimono, fan and headpieces.

  • A professional studio photography session.

  • Free time for selfies in a traditional Japanese Garden.

  • Four professionally printed pictures to take home.

The customer service was amazing and the overall experience was truly unique. As a woman of colour, I was a bit apprehensive because I wasn't sure how the white makeup would fare against my skin tone -- but it turned out great.


Things you might want to know...


I have sensitive skin, will the makeup affect my skin?


No. I have sensitive skin and after I removed everything, my actual skin felt soft and refreshed.


Are there changing rooms?


Yes, a shared changing room is provided with lockers. You are also given an undergarment robe, socks and slippers to wear.


Can I remove and re-apply my makeup after the session?


Yes, the ladies help you remove the traditional makeup. Soap, shampoo (if you need to wash your hair) and cosmetic wipes are all provided. Just remember to bring your own makeup if you want to re-apply some after the session.


Can my partner join me?


No companions are allowed to watch the session but they can wait in the waiting room.


Is it busy?


No, as bookings are made by appointment only. There may be one other customer in the makeup or dressing room during your session, but for the most part, it's mostly just a personal experience.


Are Maiko wigs available?


Yes, so no need to worry about styling your own hair.


How do I get there?


The address is:

GION AYA, 499-8,Shimogawara,Higashiyama,Kyoto,Japan.


I took an Uber for £7. As an easy reference point, AYA Gion is on a small narrow street right in front of La Bombance restaurant. Or, next door to Sakanoue (a traditional Japanese-style hotel).


Discover more about the AYA Gion makeover experience.

9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page