top of page
  • Soli Travels

Planning a day trip to Huacachina

Here's a quick overview of how to get to Paracas and Huacachina from Lima. I will also cover what to pack and expect on your trip.


Peru Hop to Huacachina


I booked a travel package with Peru Hop that included a day tour to Paracas and Huacachina from Lima. The journey is 5 hours each way, so 10 hours total. You can book with Peru Hop here.


For this tour, the Peru Hop bus or a mini bus will pick you up from your hotel at 5am if located near Kennedy Park, Miraflores. If a mini bus collects you from your hotel, it will collect a few more passengers along the way before transferring you to the main Peru Hop bus.


Your bus has a designated tour guide for the day, so don't worry.


When you board the Peru Hop bus, there will already be other passengers onboard. You can sit anywhere and there is a toilet at the back if needed. Feel free to pack light snacks if you think you'll need them for the journey. Otherwise you can stop for a quick coffee and sandwich in Paracas.


My tour included a stop in Paracas for a boat ride to The Ballestas Islands also know as 'The Poor Man's Galapagos'. The next stop was the desert oasis of Huacachina which was absolutely beautiful.

Peru

Here's what to pack and wear for dune bashing and sandboarding in Huacachina:


I carried a backpack throughout the tour which you can have with you on the boat in Paracas and on the dune buggies. It won't fall out of the vehicle.

  • Your passport

  • Sunscreen

  • Sunglasses

  • Water

  • Tissues

  • Tie your hair back or up

  • A headband to cover your hair

  • If you're wearing contact lenses, take your lens solution

  • Non-fragranced make-up wipes - I used this to wipe the sand off my face

  • A light cardigan - it get's a bit chilly at sunset

  • Wear layers as show in the image below

What to wear in Peru
Too afraid to go dune bashing?

I was terrified at first because I thought it would be like going on a roller coaster, but it wasn't that bad in terms of feeling butterflies in your stomach. It was REALLY fun and I'm glad I did it.


One tip that I think helped me was sitting in the middle, right next to the driver. I think I felt the impact less than the people in the back. You can always close your eyes too! But the ride is worth it so you can see the sunset.

Dune bashing

What happens at the end of the Huacachina tour?


Everyone has time to stop at a restaurant for dinner. Some people decide to stay in Huacachina for a few nights. In hindsight I would have spent a night in Paracas and perhaps Huacachina because it's just a different vibe in Peru. I would have also have loved to do the wine tour.


At the end of the day, you board the Peru Hop bus back to Lima, arriving around 12am.


On that note, I recommend booking the Peru Hop 2 day tour here.


Is Huacachina a good choice for children?

Personally, It's not somewhere that I would take kids under the age of 12. Kids would probably enjoy sandboarding, but I don't feel dune bashing is appropriate. I have no idea if there are any age limitations for the activity, but I didn't see any kids at Huacachina when I visited.


Even if you still decide to visit, the desert oasis is beautiful enough and I'm sure families can engage in other activities. You'll have to check the Peru Hop policies for more guidance.

Enjoy! You'll be glad you decided to go.


85 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page